skip to content


The following TWU undergraduate students were honored on Saturday, September 27, 2014.

Tenisha Smith- Class of 1955/FSA Scholarship.

Tyriesha Williams- TWU Black Alumni Scholarship

Kaitlyn Abruzzese- Lulu Kearns Memorial/FSA


Spring 2015: Kinesiology Faculty Positions to be Filled Soon

Our Sport Management and Adaptive Physical Education Positions are going to be filled soon.  Please come back for more information.

Spring 2014:  The Texas Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (TACSM) Student Bowl Team

TWU TACSM Student Team Finishes 6th out of 30 teams from across Texas in the TACSM Student Bowl.

Our Undergraduate TACSM Student Team

(left to right: Edward Gaudet, Kyle DeRosset, Ryan Larson, and Miko Anderson)  The team was coached by TWU #Exercise Physiology Doctoral Students: Sarah Deemer (Maroon Blazer) and Jill Sampson (Taking Picture).  Congrats to our excellent team for their outstanding performance! 

Previous Award Recipients

Texas Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance Award Recipients

David K. Brace Award
Dr. Gladys Keeton
Associate Professor of Dance
Texas Woman’s University

The David K. Brace Award is TAHPERD’s most prestigious award.  It is annually awarded to one exceptional professional.  This individual has exemplified the best in service, teaching, and/or administration in the disciplines of health, physical education, recreation, and/or dance.  The Brace Award recipient is recognized by TAHPERD members and other national and international professionals as a noteworthy leader and inspiration to others.

Trailblazer Award
Ms. Beth Palmer
Facilities Manager
Texas Woman’s University

The TAHPERD Trailblazer Award is to provide state recognition to TAHPERD Members who have demonstrated continuous dedication to the advocacy, recruitment, and enhancement of male and/or female sport and sport leadership in Texas.

Palaestra – Leadership Award
in Adapted Physical Education
Dr. Ron French
Texas Woman’s University

The Palaestra Leadership Awards are given every 10 years.  Palaestra honors these leaders to:
• recognize and pay tribute to professionals who have achieved excellence in their fields of endeavor;
• provide current professionals with role models to help guide their pursuits in developing philosophy, theoretical thinking, research, programs, teaching, and/or service to individuals with disabilities;
• create an accurate record of professional achievement, thus enabling future generations to reflect upon these leaders and their contributions.
The staff of Palaestra believes the legacy of those being honored will serve to inspire peers and the next generation of professionals to excel and make their own unique contributions.

 Congratulations to Nicole Wassell for receiving the Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award by Superintendent Richard Rege Jr. from the Chicopee school district! TACSM (Texas Regional Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine) meeting in Austin on March 1-2.

TWU Student Bowl Team – Kelly Vosburgh, Chelsey Roberts, and Sara Murray


TACSM President Scott McLean, Lori Cooper, and Christina Rial – receiving TACSM Student Manuscript Award

TACSM President Scott McLean and Dyana Bullinger – receiving Master Student Research Development Award ($500)

TACSM President Scott McLean and James Rowe – receiving Doctoral Student Research Development Award ($1000)

Was this page helpful?


If you would like a reply, please provide your email address.


page last updated 3/25/2015 4:03 PM